The Four Noble Truths of Buddhism

Go down

The Four Noble Truths of Buddhism Empty The Four Noble Truths of Buddhism

Post by Samie323 on Wed Nov 02, 2016 10:52 am

(1) Suffering is a part of life. Life includes pain, getting old, disease, and ultimately death. We also endure psychological suffering like loneliness frustration, fear, embarrassment, disappointment, and anger. Buddhism explains how suffering can be avoided and how we can be truly happy.

(2) Wanting deprives us of contentment and happiness. A lifetime of wanting and craving and especially the craving to continue to exist, creates a powerful energy which causes the individual to be born. So craving leads to physical suffering because it causes us to be reborn.

(3) The third truth is that suffering can be overcome and happiness can be attained; that true happiness and contentment are possible. lf we give up useless craving and learn to live each day at a time (not dwelling in the past or the imagined future) then we can become happy and free.

(4) The fourth truth is that the Noble 8-fold Path is the path which leads to the end of suffering.

(The Noble 8-fold Path is being moral (through what we say, do and our livelihood), focussing the mind on being fully aware of our thoughts and actions, and developing wisdom by understanding the Four Noble Truths and by developing compassion for others.)

Sticks and stones may break my bones, but they will heal with time.


Posts : 46
Join date : 2016-09-30
Age : 19
Location : Conestoga, PA

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Back to top

- Similar topics

Permissions in this forum:
You cannot reply to topics in this forum